Skip to main content
Mon–Fri 8:00 AM–5:00 PM · Free consultation · Hablamos Español

Utah DOT Crash Data

Salt Lake City's Most Dangerous Intersections for Pedestrians and Cyclists

UDOT’s crash records show 632 crashes involving a pedestrian or cyclist within 250 feet of Salt Lake City’s 228 modeled traffic signals from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025. Two crossings on 400 South lead the city, with 10 pedestrian crashes each.

Salt Lake City has 228 traffic signals in UDOT’s pedestrian and bicycle safety model for signalized intersections. We checked each one against UDOT’s own crash records, counting every crash involving a pedestrian or a cyclist within 250 feet of the signal, the distance the Highway Safety Manual uses to define an intersection crash, from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025. A crash near two signals is credited only to the closer one.

The 632 crashes break down into 419 involving a pedestrian and 214 involving a cyclist. One crash involved both, so it appears in each group. UDOT recorded 67 of the pedestrian crashes and 16 of the bicycle crashes as fatal or suspected serious injury, the two most severe categories in its records. Our full Wasatch Front study, covering 341,176 crashes in five counties, is free to download as a PDF.

A Pedestrian Crash Is About Twice as Likely to Be Severe

Of the 419 pedestrian crashes, 16.0% were fatal or suspected serious injury. Of the 214 bicycle crashes, 7.5% were. Put another way, a pedestrian crash at a Salt Lake City signal was about 2.1 times as likely as a bicycle crash to end that badly. The city tracks the state closely on this measure: across all 1,263 signals in UDOT’s statewide model, 16.7% of pedestrian crashes and 8.9% of bicycle crashes reached that level.

Pedestrian crashes turn up across most of the city, though not evenly. Of the 228 signals, 149, close to two in three, had at least one during the period, and only 55 had no pedestrian or bicycle crash at all. At the same time, the ten signals ranked below account for 77 of the 419 pedestrian crashes, and the fifteen with the most account for 106, roughly a quarter of the citywide total. Taken together, Salt Lake City’s signals hold 419 of the 2,105 pedestrian crashes at modeled signals statewide, about one in five.

The Ten Signals With the Most Pedestrian Crashes

Ranked by pedestrian crashes in UDOT’s records from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025. Where two signals tie, the one with more bicycle crashes is listed first, then the one with more serious pedestrian crashes. The two 400 South signals are tied on all three. “Serious or fatal” means UDOT recorded the crash as fatal or suspected serious injury. Daily pedestrian and vehicle volumes are UDOT model estimates.

  • 400 South (SR-186) & 200 East — 10 pedestrian crashes, 1 of them serious or fatal, and 3 bicycle crashes. UDOT estimates about 4,868 people cross here on foot each day, second only to South Temple and State Street among the city’s modeled signals.
  • 400 South (US-89) & 200 West — 10 pedestrian crashes and 3 bicycle crashes, with 1 serious or fatal crash in each group. The busier road carries about 32,000 vehicles a day.
  • 900 South & State Street (US-89) — 8 pedestrian crashes, 2 serious or fatal, and no bicycle crashes. The busier road carries about 36,000 vehicles a day, the heaviest traffic in this top ten, and UDOT’s model lists four bus stops and two schools nearby.
  • 2100 South & 900 East — 8 pedestrian crashes, none recorded as serious or fatal, and no bicycle crashes. It is the only signal in the top ten where neither road is a state or U.S. route.
  • 1300 South & State Street (US-89) — 7 pedestrian crashes and 4 bicycle crashes. Three of the pedestrian crashes were serious or fatal, tied with 400 South at Redwood Road for the most at any signal in the city.
  • 700 North & Redwood Road (SR-68) — 7 pedestrian crashes, 2 serious or fatal, and 4 bicycle crashes. No other Redwood Road signal in the city recorded as many pedestrian crashes.
  • 2100 South (SR-201) & 300 West — 7 pedestrian crashes, 2 serious or fatal, and 4 bicycle crashes, 1 serious or fatal. Counting both groups, its 3 severe crashes tie for the most in the city.
  • 200 South & State Street (SR-186) — 7 pedestrian crashes and 3 bicycle crashes, one of the bicycle crashes serious or fatal. UDOT estimates about 3,004 pedestrians a day here and counts four bus stops nearby.
  • 400 South & State Street (SR-186 / US-89) — 7 pedestrian crashes, 1 serious or fatal, and 2 bicycle crashes. Two numbered routes meet here; the busier road carries about 34,500 vehicles a day and the other about 26,500, with roughly 3,909 people crossing on foot.
  • 600 North (SR-268) & 300 West (US-89) — 6 pedestrian crashes and 2 bicycle crashes, none serious or fatal. UDOT’s model puts foot traffic here at about 223 people a day, the lightest in this top ten.

Just behind the ten, with 6 pedestrian crashes each, are 400 South at West Temple, 1300 South at Main Street, North Temple at 300 West and 1300 South at 300 West, followed by 2100 South at State Street with 5 pedestrian and 5 bicycle crashes. Of those fifteen signals, 12 sit on a state or U.S. route, all fifteen are four-leg intersections, and 11 have at least one bus stop nearby in UDOT’s model. Two corridors keep reappearing: State Street accounts for five of the fifteen and 400 South for four. Across all 13 of its modeled signals in the city, State Street recorded 59 pedestrian crashes, 12 of them serious or fatal.

Cyclists Are Hit on Different Corners

The bicycle numbers point somewhere else. North Temple at 900 West had the most bicycle crashes in the city, 7, enough to place it in the statewide top ten. Redwood Road (SR-68) stands out on the west side: its eight modeled signals in the city account for 22 bicycle crashes, led by 6 at 400 South and 5 at Indiana Avenue (840 South). Redwood Road also carries a heavy share of severe pedestrian crashes, with 9 of its 23 recorded as serious or fatal, including all 3 at 400 South, against 16.0% citywide. Bicycle crashes were less often severe overall, and no signal in the city had more than 2 serious or fatal bicycle crashes.

Where UDOT’s Model Sees the Most Risk

UDOT’s safety model is a separate measure. It rates each signal’s expected pedestrian and bicycle crash risk from its vehicle traffic, its walking and cycling volume, and the layout of the crossing. That rating is an estimate, not a count, and UDOT does not state the time period behind it, so this page does not set it against the 2018–2025 crash counts.

Among Salt Lake City signals, the model rates 2100 South (SR-201) at State Street (US-89) as the highest pedestrian risk, followed by 400 South (SR-186) at 900 East and 900 South at State Street. For cyclists it rates 400 South (SR-186) at 700 East (SR-71) highest. Those ratings describe risk as UDOT’s model scores it, not what happened at any signal.

After Dark in Salt Lake City

Daylight saw the most pedestrian crashes, 232 of 419, but the darker hours carried the worst of them. UDOT’s records mark 172 of the city’s pedestrian crashes, 41.1%, as happening in the dark, against 34.1% at signals statewide, and those crashes produced 40 of the 67 that were serious or fatal. Put another way, 23.3% of pedestrian crashes after dark ended in a death or a suspected serious injury, about double the 11.2% in daylight. The window from 7 p.m. to midnight matched the 3 to 7 p.m. evening commute at 117 crashes apiece, yet it held nearly twice as many serious ones, 23 against 12. Over the complete years 2018 through 2024, September, October and November each logged 42 or more pedestrian crashes, while March logged 20. Sunday was the quietest day, with 32.

Drivers Who Left the Scene

The crash reports flag 89 of Salt Lake City’s 419 pedestrian crashes, 21.2%, as hit and run, above the 17.6% at signals statewide. The share was steeper among the worst outcomes: 21 of the 67 serious or fatal pedestrian crashes, nearly a third, involved a driver who left. That is close to half of the 44 serious or fatal hit-and-run pedestrian crashes at modeled signals across Utah. Other flags were rarer. Officers marked 14 pedestrian crashes as involving a distracted driver and 7 as involving an impaired one, 4 of those serious or fatal. On the bicycle side, 18 of 214 crashes were hit and run.

A driver who is never found does not end a claim. Utah law treats an unidentified vehicle that left the scene as an uninsured motor vehicle (Utah Code § 31A-22-305(2)(b)), so the injured person’s own uninsured motorist coverage, or a policy held by a relative in the same household, can respond. Reporting the crash to police right away and keeping the case number helps show that the other vehicle existed.

Posted Speeds at the Worst Crossings

None of the ten signals at the top of this page sits on a road posted above 40 mph. Taking the higher of the two current posted limits at each, five are 35 mph crossings, two are 30 mph, and three are 40 mph: 700 North at Redwood Road, 2100 South (SR-201) at 300 West, and 600 North (SR-268) at 300 West. Across the city, severity rose with the posted limit. Where neither street is posted above 30 mph, 3 of 41 pedestrian crashes were serious or fatal; at 35 mph signals, 38 of 257; at 40 mph signals, 16 of 88. Redwood Road (SR-68), posted at 40 to 45 mph at its eight modeled signals in the city, recorded 9 serious or fatal outcomes among its 23 pedestrian crashes. That is a pattern in this city’s records, not proof of cause; statewide, the same comparison shows no such climb.

A posted limit is not the speed of any particular car, and limits can change after a crash. Research on impact speed shows why it still matters: the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety (Tefft, 2011) estimated an average pedestrian’s risk of death at 10% when struck at 23 mph, 25% at 32 mph and 50% at 42 mph.

What These Counts Leave Out

Only crashes within 250 feet of one of the 228 modeled signals are counted. A crash at an unsignalized crosswalk, mid-block, in a parking lot or farther than 250 feet from a signal is not included. Falling inside that radius does not mean the intersection caused the crash; a driveway or a mid-block crossing can sit within 250 feet of a light. The figures count crashes, not people, and one crash can injure more than one person. None of it is a finding of fault: the records show where collisions happened, not who was responsible.

If You Were Hurt Near One of These Signals

The crash history at the place you were hit can matter to a claim. A record of earlier pedestrian or bicycle crashes bears on whether the danger was known, and the signal timing, crosswalk markings and lighting at that corner bear on whether the design played a part. UDOT’s crash data is public, and the engineering records for a signal can be requested from the agency that runs it, which may be the state rather than the city when the road is a numbered route. For crashes of every kind ranked street by street, see Salt Lake City’s most dangerous roads.

Losses a Claim Can Cover

  • Medical and financial losses: ambulance and emergency care, surgery, rehabilitation, wages lost while you recover, and lower earning capacity if the injury is permanent.
  • Pain and lost routines: the pain itself, and the loss of the walk or ride you used to take through the city without thinking twice.
  • Future care: later surgery, ongoing therapy, and help at home if recovery stops short of where you were.

How We Counted

Crash counts come from UDOT’s crash records: every pedestrian- or bicycle-involved crash within 250 feet of a signal, the Highway Safety Manual’s intersection distance, from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025, the most recent date in UDOT’s public crash records when these counts were made. A crash counts as serious or fatal when UDOT recorded its severity as “Fatal” or “Suspected Serious Injury.” The list of signals, along with the pedestrian, bicycle and traffic volumes, schools, bus stops and lighting, comes from UDOT’s signalized-intersection pedestrian and bicycle safety model. Model estimates are UDOT’s and are not compared with the counts. The full study, with county-level figures and method notes, is available as a PDF. Time of day, light condition and the hit-and-run, distraction and impairment flags come from the same UDOT crash records, as coded by the investigating officer; monthly comparisons use only the complete years 2018 through 2024. Posted limits are UDOT’s 2026 state-route speed limits and, for city streets, UGRC’s Utah Roads estimates. Every city we have counted this way is listed on our statewide page, Utah’s most dangerous intersections.

Recent Recoveries

Recent Results

$500,000
Truck Accident
Utah County, Utah
Recovered
$300,000
Dog Bite
Millcreek, Utah
Recovered
$275,000
Bicycle Accident
Utah County, Utah
Recovered

Outcomes turn on the specific facts of each case, and no past result predicts another.

See All Case Results →

Common Questions

Salt Lake City Intersection Crash Questions

Which Salt Lake City intersection has the most pedestrian crashes?

Two are tied. 400 South (SR-186) at 200 East and 400 South (US-89) at 200 West each had 10 pedestrian crashes within 250 feet of the signal from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025. Only six signals in UDOT’s statewide model had more. 900 South at State Street and 2100 South at 900 East follow with 8 each.

Can the intersection’s crash history help my claim?

It can be relevant. Earlier crashes at the same crossing can support an argument that the danger was known, and they point to the signal timing, markings and lighting as things worth examining. A crash history does not by itself prove anyone was negligent, and it does not replace evidence about how your own crash happened.

Are pedestrians or cyclists more likely to be badly hurt?

Pedestrians. In Salt Lake City, 67 of 419 pedestrian crashes near signals, 16.0%, were fatal or suspected serious injury, compared with 16 of 214 bicycle crashes, 7.5%. That makes a pedestrian crash about 2.1 times as likely to be severe.

What is UDOT’s safety model?

It is UDOT’s statistical model of pedestrian and bicycle crash risk at signalized intersections. It supplies the list of signals on this page and the traffic, walking and cycling volumes quoted here, and it produces its own estimates of expected crashes. Those estimates are not a record of what happened, and because UDOT does not state the period they cover, this page does not compare them with the 2018–2025 counts.

How current is this data?

The crash counts run from January 1, 2018 through August 4, 2025, the most recent date in UDOT’s public crash records when these counts were made. Crashes after that date are not included.

What do you charge?

Nothing to start. You pay nothing up front, and no attorney fees unless we win.

Hit While Walking or Riding in Salt Lake City?

Free consultation. You pay nothing up front, and no attorney fees unless we win. Hablamos español.